SOLAR POWERED INSECTS may be more useful in Unmanned Mission..?

Life on planet Earth is very diverse and I love nature and its creatures a lot. solar-dragonfly-robotAnything that fascinates me a lot, are extraordinary capabilities of insects regarding their size. Really, it bounds me to become a fan of these tiny insects. It is intriguing to imagine capabilities and strength of creature which is nothing just a large insect and sci fi movie around this creature can easily developed. Is not that? beetle-robot-kitThough I don’t work for NASA or such agency but news channels tells of that there are a lot problem with our current rovers , they are not perfect for exploration. In contrary, I wonder why they don’t use vehicles based on engineering of insects say beetles, grasshoppers, ants or better spider? I don’t think anything is better for unmanned missions to mars or other rocky planet or gas giants, than these ant or spider like vehicle. I think they can easily built and programmed for mission with more power and capabilities. They can easily cross rocks, sands and other problem. Cameras and other equipments may be put inside exoskelton of these robotic insects, cameras would be fitted well in place of eyes of these giant robotic insects. Out of eight or six legs one or more may be embedded with drilling machines and antenna could recognize organic compounds. How simple that seems! I find these insects better than any rover and they really are. It solves problems of walking on rough surface of such planets. It may be better idea with amazing capabilities.

About bruceleeeowe
An engineering student and independent researcher. I'm researching and studying quantum physics(field theories). Also searching for alien life.

9 Responses to SOLAR POWERED INSECTS may be more useful in Unmanned Mission..?

  1. dad2059 says:

    I think somebody already beat you to the punch on that one Bruce; http://crnano.typepad.com/crnblog/2008/11/nanobots-on-mars.html

    But I think I recently read an article in which these nanobots could be made to be powered by photosynthesis, like plants.

    But I can’t find it again.

  2. bruceleeeowe says:

    Hey friend, I’d visited that article and I find it a bit different from that one of mine.
    Oh…. Photo synthetic nanobots may be possiblity, but what tabloid we got from NASA, it is challenge how would these so called nanobot would fuel themselves without water and little sunlight. I’m interested if you can provide me a link to that article.

  3. dad2059 says:

    Here’s a link I think that matches your pretty closely Bruce;

    http://www.associatedcontent.com/article/1976912/floweringphotosyntheticcaterpillarcomputerbabyrenegadeibot.html?cat=44

    It’s not NASA, but the idea is close.

Leave a Reply

